Happy 4th Of July!

3 Jul

As you may have noticed I’ve been absent during the month of June as it was a very busy month for my family.  Summertime comes work changes, opening up our pool and celebrating wonderful weddings.  In preparation for the wedding I was in I purchased some great cruelty-free products and on our way up to Rochester (where the wedding was held) we stopped up to visit some wonderful souls at the Farm Sanctuary. I will post photos and information once hubby is able to load his pictures from our camera.

In the meantime I want to discuss July 4th.

We are hosting our first July 4th at our home and with it come issues of food. Regardless of our eating habits when we went out or do go out (as our diet has changed) our home has been strictly vegetarian. My pots, pans and stove have never seen an animal in it (except for the time my MIL decided to make chicken soup in my massive pot and I took a fit).  Through purchase points on our Sears card we received a free brand new Weber grill a few years back.  For previous BBQs I allowed others to bring meat to cook on it and I turned a blind eye because I was not cooking.  This year my parents, frustrated I think, with our small Weber offered to buy us a larger gas grill. I was not comfortable with that idea at all because I think grills mostly are for cooking meat on it. I was told by many people over the years that if I was going to have a BBQ and people wanted meat to tell them to bring it themselves.  As much as it is my house, I decided, very hesitantly to allow my parents offer and  told them to bring their own food to eat as we were not supplying the meat.  In return made sure to select a grill that had wonderful options to grill pizza, veggies and more for the future.  

In return I am supplying all the sides, drinks and treats that will be all vegan. I felt by going this route I was “satisfying” my guests with what they normally eat while introducing even more delicious dishes for them to try out. For every burger (that is not bought by us) there are several yummy vegan side dishes to try. I spoke with several vegan friends about this and they all agreed it was a positive step.  I know some of my dear vegan friends would tell me that it is my house and to put my foot down. While I respect and believe in that action I also did not want to keep 90% of my guests away and thought this would be an educational opportunity for them.

Here are some of the dishes I plan to introduce at the party:

–          Vegan Greek  pasta salad

–          Strawberry and raspberry toss salad

–          Vegan BLTs

–          Vegan burgers with tons of toppings

–          Several different kinds of humus and chips for dipping

–          Fresh corn dipped in Earth Balance and herbs

–          Bean salad soaked in Italian dressing

–          Fresh fruit

–          Lemon cookies

–          Cherry, blueberry, strawberry, etc. lemonades

–          And More!!

How do you plan to celebrate your July 4th?

I will let you know how the party goes!

Leave a Reply

